Alice’s Travels and Adventures: 48 Hours in London

I was finally a tourist in London. Here is a post about what I got up to and what we managed to fit into 48 hours in London

I was finally a tourist! As someone who spent most of her childhood before the age of ten living just half an hour from Central London, I feel significant shame in the fact that I have never really spent a few days doing the touristy things. I vaguely remember a ride on the London Eye during the era of it being ‘the millennium wheel’. But apart from that, everything else was so alien to me. We did not have money to do such things growing up which I guess makes sense to me but not other people.

So when a friend invited me and le husband down (as she was recovering from an operation) we could hardly give up the chance. Although we may not have done too many big landmarks – I mean is there any point seeing Big Ben if its not even ringing? We really enjoyed ourselves and I finally got to see some places I have been dying to see for years!

Too Many Bath Bombs

As you will know, I have one great love of my life (apart from my husband and Jesus that is) – Baths.

So, one could not pass up an opportunity to go to Oxford Street. Yes I know its one of the worst places to actually shop and we clearly picked the best night as it was when the Christmas lights were being switched on. Even on the best days you can barely move from the sheer volume of people but I felt it was necessary. No wait, not necessary, an imperative that we go to LUSH’s flagship store. One does not simply go to Oxford Street and not have a little mooch around the mothership.

img_6408.jpg
It was calling to me!

I loved how I was able to see everything they produced all in one place and actually 3/4pm was not the worst time to visit. There are also so many exclusive product only to Oxford Street. I will say that I find it ridiculous that having used LUSH products for about 7 years I have only been to the flagship store now! But wow! that genuinely is way too much money spent on bath bombs… like way too much.

img_6406
I want it all

What was even more awesome is that while we where there, we got the opportunity to make our own snow-fairy reusable bubble bar which is called ‘magic wand’ – you can buy the real thing here. They do this at around 4pm every day in the Oxford Street store which I did not know. And best part is that you can take the thing you make home…for free. Saved me £5.95.

Am I allowed to live in the British Library?

Next on our whistle stop tour was, for me, the highlight. The British Library’s ‘A History of Magic’ exhibition to honour the twenty years since Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s (or Sorceror’s in US) Stone was published. There is everything from the books that influenced the creation of magic creatures and storylines to the new illustrations by Jim Kay, who quite frankly is quite extraordinary. You are not allowed to take photographs which made me most displeased.

img_7684
I liked the creative touch here. Wish I had these on my ceiling

It is not a surprise to me that many do not realise that J K Rowling took inspiration from a hell of a lot of places in order to create her wonderful Wizarding World. It is what any writer would to. What I loved about the exhibition was how it showed how very meticulous a writer she was. I am all for spreadsheets but J K took it to the next level. As a creative person I liked having a glimpse into her thought process.

img_7690
Jim Kay’s illustrations are exquisite

It has been running since October and will end on 28th February and you need to book in advance and it’s not free (unless you are a member). I booked my tickets for a non-peak time on a week day and there is now no availability for the weekend. But there are still tickets for during the week from January, which you can find tickets here.  I hate paying to enter libraries and exhibitions but I made an exception for this.

You Name A Country, London Has The Food

Now because I had to drag my husband to hot chocolate shops and libraries, which he will be the first to admit are not his favourite things, I had to compromise. So we ate a lot of food and I mean a lot! I could not justify dragging him to Soho and the West End and not going to Chinatown. I actually think that there isn’t a single place there where the food isn’t good.

img_7553img_7551

We managed to find a small family-run place where the food was amazing and yet it did not break the bank. For three people, who had a starter and a main it came to about £40. Seeing as we were in London, that was a steal in my opinion. The amazing discovery of prawn spring rolls was just heaven. I mean I am all for vegetables but seriously prawns…in a spring roll! Even got my husband to try Oolong tea which for him was a big step. But if you know me at all you know that it was a must.

Feeding My Sweet Tooth

I will always prefer sweet over savoury and having so many amazing bakeries and cafes meant that I clearly had to take advantage of what London had to offer. The first day we were in London, it epitomised true British weather. It was pissing it down and very cold. So obviously we had to take shelter in a local desert cafe – Chin Chin. I had heard about their hot chocolates but my god actually seeing them were amazing.

img_7603img_7600

I will just paint the picture for you. Fresh hot chocolate, made with real hot chocolate I might add, with a massive dollop of blow-torched marshmallow fluff. I know to many, it sounds sickly but to me it was practically perfect in every single marshmallow chocolatey way.

It did not end there. Oh no. I finally… FINALLY managed to go to cupcake-baker heaven – The Hummingbird Bakery. Now I had been waiting for this day I really had been.

img_7700
Just so many cupcakes!

Having owned the cookbooks for so long I finally managed to get my hands on their red velvet cupcakes and pumpkin whoopie pies, both of which I think are joint first place in terms of their best products. Oh I do not have any shame about spending 13 quid on cupcakes I seriously don’t.

img_7706
The Hummingbird Bakery’s Pumpkin Whoopie Pies – Effectively a cake sandwich. Genius
img_7698
The Hummingbird Bakery’s Red Velvet Cupcakes – They practically made red velvet as a cake flavour famous in the UK

However…..

The Tube is a Convenient Hell 

I will always talk about the things that did not go so great and for me the thing that would totally put me off living in London or close by is the fact that the tube is by default the only effective mode of transportation. But I hate it!

I don’t like rush hour at the best of times. But in London, rush hour is basically all day every day. What makes it worse for me is that the two things that set off my anxiety are crowds and travelling. So really I am in a catch 22. I am really proud of myself for getting through it but there is so much more progress I would need to make if I was ever going to make the move.

Also, it’s so expensive even with a rail card. I did just like walking along the streets and watching the world go by but I was with lazy people so what’s a girl got to do.

One Cocktail Bankrupted Me

The amount it costs to live in London actually makes me sick. I will be honest and frank. I do not feel that I am getting any more for my money or gaining a greater experience being in the capital with friends as I would be if I was with those same friends in Leicester.

The fact that one drink costs me ten quid in London, yet an hour away (at the same establishment I might add) it is a fiver really does not sit right with me at all. I do not agree that company’s should increase a price of a product based on where you buy it. But yet its profit for them at the end of the day.

I also don’t feel that I would willingly fork out the cost of actually renting a place in London either. With the cost of rent in London meaning that for double the price I would have to downsize from a house to a flat really is the final nail in the coffin.

Final Thoughts 

London is a beautiful place and there is so much that would interest me as I am both academic and creative. I loved my time there and the fact I got to see friends that I have not been able to see since my wedding.

But once the novelty had worn off and I had seen all that was necessary to see, I don’t see the appeal. I won’t bankrupt myself to have a lifestyle that really I would never really want in the first place.  But I had an amazing time and even met Shakespeare!

img_7578
For one of the greatest playwrites of all time, he really did not have much to say…

Lots of Love

AL

 

© Alice Rose Blecker-Loyallaleon 2017

Leave a comment